The Northeast Region was established in May of 1972 when the national structure of the BSA regions was reduced from twelve to six. Region 1 (New England), Region 2 (New York, New Jersey, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands), Pennsylvania from Region 3, and the Transatlantic Council joined to form the new Northeast Region. When additional changes to the national organization were announced in late 1973, it was decided that there would be six Region Chiefs elected, one for each of the regions, in addition to a National Chief and National Vice Chief. This change was in lieu of just electing conference officers. In 1982, Maryland, Delaware, Washington, D.C., Northern Virginia, and part of West Virginia were added to the region. There have been no other changes to the region’s borders since that time, even as the number of regions was reduced to four in 1992. The Northeast Region is the smallest in landmass in the continental United States, but serves roughly one-fourth of the Order’s membership.

One of the Region Chief’s primary responsibilities is to serve as the director of the National Leadership Seminars held within the region. From 1972-1992, the training syllabus was based on lodge operations. Since 1992, it has strictly been a leadership-based course, garnering praise as the best training that the BSA has ever offered. There are usually between two and four NLSs held over the course of the year, except in 1987, when a region-wide NLS event was held at Rutgers University. Also, since 1987, the Northeast Region has offered an annual Section Officers Seminar to allow for an open exchange of ideas between section officers and advisers on how to run a successful conclave.

The Region Chief also has responsibilities in assisting the National Chief and Vice Chief in planning and executing the National program for that year and, when invited, serves as a youth member of the Northeast Region Executive Board. Along with his responsibilities in the region, beginning in 2000, the Region Chief also serves as a voting member on the National Order of the Arrow Committee. He may serve in other capacities as determined by his Region Chairman.

Our Region Chairmen have been:

  • Gary H. Bonas, Jr. (1975-1981)
  • Ronald L. Rupp (1981-1987)
  • Thomas E. Reddin (1987-2000)
  • Randall K. Cline (2001-2008)
  • Thomas Bain (2008-2011)
  • Mark Chilutti (2011-2014)
  • Bob Black (2014-present)

Our Region Staff Advisers have been:

  • Russell E. Ziegahn (1978)
  • William R. Ziegler, Jr. (1978-1984)
  • Elmer B. Greey, Jr. (1984-1990)
  • Douglas C. Fullman (1990-2010)
  • Brian Gray (2010-2015)
  • Steve Sawyer (2015-present)

From: northeast.oa-bsa.org

Powered by http://wordpress.org/ and http://www.hqpremiumthemes.com/